Mishra, Claimed by Gix Commander Rule

 avatar
Mr_McMann avatarMr_McMann 18 months
{"ops":[{"insert":"So I had a question about Mishra’s meld ability. If "},{"insert":{"card-link":"Mishra, Claimed by Gix"}},{"insert":" is your commander and you end up melding him with "},{"insert":{"card-link":"Phyrexian Dragon Engine"}},{"insert":" and deal combat damage to a player with the melded "},{"insert":{"card-link":"Mishra, Lost to Phyrexia"}},{"insert":", does that count as commander damage?\n"}]}
Edited 11/28/2022, 8:41:47 PM
0
 avatar
John_Sherwood avatarJohn_Sherwood 18 months
{"ops":[{"attributes":{"link":"https://mtgcommander.net/index.php/rules/"},"insert":"Commander Rule"},{"insert":" 8: \"Being a commander is not a characteristic [MTG CR109.3], it is a property of the card and tied directly to the physical card. As such, “commander-ness” cannot be copied or overwritten by continuous effects. The card retains it’s commander-ness through any status changes, and is still a commander even when controlled by another player.\"\n\nThe card is still a commander, even if it melds into another object with a card.\n"}]}
1